Tags

, , ,

There is something I hate.

Well, hate maybe isn’t the right word. Or, at least, it’s not a flexible enough word. I go between strong dislike and utterly despise.

I hate it when people say “I could never do that.”

I know they mean it as a compliment. I know it’s meant to say ‘this thing that you are doing is really cool.’ But it comes off as such insincere, self-deprecating crap. How the hell do you know whether or not you could do that? Have you ever tried? Have you ever even considered it? No. You just saw it on TV and thought you were too dumb, or too fat, or too whatever.

Don’t be a dumbass. You can do whatever the hell you want to do.

Yes. I know the old joke. What are an idiot’s most common last words? Hell, I can do that.

But really people. F*ck that. Someone else is doing it. Why the hell can’t you? Maybe you don’t have the skill or the training or the physical fitness or mental discipline, but neither did the person you’re looking at. Everyone starts from zero. Grow up. Get up. And do what you F*cking want to do. Don’t just sit there and look down on yourself.

(Puts soapbox away.) Thank you.

