Tags

, ,

I haven’t posted a lot for NaNoWriMo this year. (Actually, I’ve been a little behind on posting this month in general, but that’s because I was out on vacation. it’s a lame excuse, but it’s true. Anyway…)

I may not have posted much, but I do have some advice for everyone who is struggling through with pounding out their novels a word at a time:

Don’t take yourself too seriously.

This is my big failing. I try to make every word count and every line a work of art. And yeah, that’s kind of what we’re all going for, but you don’t have to get it right the first try. Keep pounding away at the keys. Let your heroine take that nasty fall that makes her wake up in a hospital bed. Have your protagonist fall asleep at the wheel and crash his car. This is why it’s a first draft. It doesn’t have to make perfect sense. You can delete it later if you need to.

