Tags

, , , ,

Something really weird happens on occasion when I’m writing. Some times, some of my characters have truly great ideas that I would never think of. I’m not really sure how this works. They’re supposed to be just figments of my imagination, but they have tastes and wackiness all their own. Now, I know I’m not the only writer who has ever looked at a character and asked, “Are you really sure you want to do that?” But that’s one of the great things about writing, when characters take on a life of their own.

Still, it’s a little weird for a character to think of something that had never occurred to me. (Maybe in my subconscious somewhere? I don’t know.) For instance, in one of the things I’m writing currently one of my characters has an odd sense of taste and while sitting to lunch with a couple other main characters she orders a ‘mushroom-swiss burger with added jalapenos.’

I had never heard of this idea before, but as soon as I finished typing the sentence I thought “Oh wow, that sounds good.” Sure, probably I was just hungry, but that combination turned out to be amazing.  Has this happened to anyone else? Does getting into your characters head give you new ideas based on the way they would see things?

Also, try the burger.

Seriously. It’s delicious.

