Tags

, , , , , ,

Gearing up for NaNoWriMo.

As some of you probably already know each year November is National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo. The goal of this is to, obviously, write a novel. Or at least get a good start on one. The idea is to write daily with a goal of 50,000 words by the end of the month. There are competitions and even prizes at times, but the main idea is to give all of our lazy writer butts a fantastic excuse to get off said lazy writer butts and write.

Personally, I think its a great idea and its something I try to do every year. So now I need to ask, what the heck am I going to write about? I want to get a rough idea of plot, characters, and setting before November gets here so I don’t have to spend the first several days wondering what I’m going to write about. Also, this will allow me to avoid slumping hung over in front of my computer and banging on the keys until something semi-legible happened like last year. (No, it never got posted and probably never will).

Do I start something new or do i use this as a great opportunity to pick up one of the myriad projects I have sitting around with half a dozen pages finished?

Also, do I want to post as I go? Or, more specifically, do you want me to post as I go? Keep in mind, there will be almost no editing involved. The story will go as it goes and no promises. But if you guys want to see it I can post as I go. Actually, maybe thats a good idea. That will keep me honest and maybe it will help show people that it doesn’t take a lot of time or effort to make headway in a novel. (Providing I actually make progress, that is.)

That’s a great idea, but I still have no idea what kind of a novel to write. Hmmm…

At the moment my choices are:
Mystery Novel
Alien Abduction
Epic Fantasy
Space Opera
Urban Fantasy

What thinks the blogosphere?

