Tags

, , , ,

I love the Underdog. Really.  I mean I’ve been a Green Bay Packers Fan since I was 7 and a Chicago Cubs Fan since I was 15.  The Packers have yo-yo’d from Horrible to great and Back a couple times in my life and the Cubs had a fantastic year in 1918, but lately… not so much.

Everyone loves the underdog, but lets be realistic here.  They’re the underdog for a reason.  Or even several reasons.  I just finished a sci-fi story.  It was pretty good on a lot of levels, with some neat ideas I may even look into stealing at a later date, but one thing really bothered me.  In the first two encounters with the Big Alien Monster, (BAM).  The elite pilots and students were predictably devastated, leaving room for the not-so-good hero to have to step up and fill shoes too big for him.

Okay, classic story, maybe even cliche’ at this point.  Here’s my bitch: Why do the elite soldiers always die right away?  They’re the Freakin’ elite!  Shouldn’t they be good at their jobs?  When the BAM turns around and does something unexpected like grow another head or shoot tentacles or, in this case, electrocute someone, why don’t the elite, highly trained, experienced soldiers freaking adjust and go kick some BAM butt?  That should be why they are Elite!

Nope.  There job is to scream and die horribly, following the same tactics that got everyone else killed, and thereby let the always oppressive bureaucracy know that they have to recruit the loner hero, because he’s a weirdo that does things his own way and he may just have the creativity needed.

Really?  No one ever got to be the elite because they were creative?  People in command can’t come up with a new plan?  And why are all Sci-fi governments these massive bureaucracies that oppress everyone and we have to fight against?  Can we predict the evolution of humanity in technology and DNA, but not in paper-work?

Okay, minor rant over.  All I’m saying is that maybe we should spend as much creativity on story-line and why people are where they are as we do on setting.

