Tags

, , ,

If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of you life would you return to? Why?

 

I’m not saying I haven’t made mistakes in my life.  I’ve made several, probably more than my fair share and some of them with such far reaching consequences that it’s hard to say if I’ve even finished living them out.   And a lot of those mistakes I would love to remedy, I would love to undo some of the hurt I’ve caused, change the way some of my life has gone, the way the choices I’ve made have played out, but if I only get one.  Just one do-over then I know where I”d go.

I’d go back to High School.  I know that’s trite and fairly cliche’, but it’s not for the reasons most might think.

Truth be told, like most sane people in the world, I didn’t really hate High-School that much, but I didn’t love it either.  True, I didn’t really embraced it as much as I could have, or maybe should have, but it’s not the schooling I miss, or the people, the friends or the teachers.  It’s my parents.  Both of my parents have passed on now, my father passing near the beginning of my senior year of High School.  If I get one trip back in time, just to relive a moment or a span of time, then that’s where I go. 

I’d love to see my parents again.  Both of them.  Together.  Especially if I get to keep all my current knowledge without risking the integrity of the timeline.  I’d love to sit down, grab a glass of whiskey, a good smoke, and just have a talk.  Talk to them as people and as an adult.  I’d like that.

I think I’d like that a lot.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/prompt-turn-back-time/

 

