Tags

, , ,

I’m back in Wisconsin for the thanksgiving holiday and staying with my brother and his family.  Today I went out to grab some supplies before the stores closed so I could make my normal pumpkin pie.  I walked into the small local grocery store and started browsing.  I knew I needed eggs and evaporated milk plus a pie crust.  (I can make my own pie crust, but it’s usually just easier to use a pre-made frozen one.)

I wandered around for a while, but couldn’t find the things I needed.  They weren’t with the baked goods, or the dairy supplies, or anywhere I could see.  I figured they must have been moved to a main display and lumped together for ease of shopping like they often are during the holidays, but I couldn’t find the display either.  No Problem, I’ll ask.  (I’m a man, I can ask for help if I really need to.)  I walk up to the lady stocking shelves.  “Excuse me,” I say politely, “Can you tell me where I can find the pie filling?”

The woman turns, obviously startled and I see her face; she’s got the open and childish face of someone with down syndrome.  I smile again repeating my question into the silence.  But the woman shakes her head fast, stammering.  “You c…Can’t win.”

I blink.  “What?”

Again; “You can’t win… Don’t talk to me.”

Two astonished heartbeats pass with my jaw open before I start to chuckle.  “Uh… okay.  Thanks for the heads up.”

I found the display on my way out the store and managed to get what I needed, but I don’t think it’s going to make much of a difference.  I guess I just can’t win.

