Tags

, , ,

“October 16th is officially declared “Person X Day” — and you get to pick Person X. Tell us about someone who deserves to be commemorated.”

I can think of hundreds or thousands of people that deserve to be commemorated: Lincoln, Ghandi, Lao Tzu, Mother Theresa, Chief Joseph, etc…  These are great people, they’ve altered the history of the world and shaped the evolution of mankind, but I’d like to write something about my mother.

There’s something I have to say.  I’ve wanted to say it before and didn’t, but I think it’s time.  Those few of you who know me personally know that my mother passed away from cancer nearly three years ago on the day after Christmas.  Since then I’ve heard a multitude of people all saying the same thing.  They say it about my mother, they say it about friends and relatives, and they say it about strangers:

“She lost her battle with cancer.”

I’ve ignored it for years, but now I’m going to respond as clearly and succinctly as I can:

My mother didn’t lose anything.

She died in the end, but she never lost.  in her last days she tried to go without pain medication as much as possible so she could enjoy the time with her children and grand-children.  She made herself available for friends and family.  She never bent.  She never broke.  She never surrendered.

In my book, that makes her the victor.

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/16/daily-prompt-honor/

 

